Freshman Seminar Reflection #1– Zack Wentz

Throughout the first four weeks of this class, I have learned a lot about what it would take to survive back in the caveman times. My favorite day so far was the day that we made, or attempted to make, fire. Prior to that day, I had always thought that making fire only required rubbing any old two sticks together. But it turns out that there’s a lot more to it, and it takes a heck of a lot more work and energy. I came to realize that I would’ve had to have been the “moocher” to survive, otherwise I would’ve frozen to death for sure. I also thoroughly enjoyed the day we were weaving. That day really opened my eyes to how really all life was back in the day was just working to survive. There were few luxuries; most of the activities were making essential items to keep everyone alive. Weaving also made me realize how much patience was needed. Putting my ADHD aside, I still would’ve gone crazy after weaving the same pattern for > 30 minutes. At this point, I’m going to have to say that I would’ve really struggled living back then. Life would’ve been so hard! I am really bummed that I have had to miss a few classes so far, because I really have enjoyed this class so far. I look forward to what is in store for the rest of the semester!

Zack Wentz

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

