As I reflect back on the semester, the class that will leave me the most lasting memories, well good memories that is, is without a doubt Freshman Seminar 180. I would have never thought I would have been able to do so many things in one class, especially one that only meets once a week. Another way that Fsem 180 exceeded my expectations and wildest imaginations of college was the emphasis of the last few weeks of seminar. Of course, I am talking about brewing beer, something I never imagined myself doing, much less as a freshman. However, thanks to the help of a brewing expert with his own brewing company, Golden State Brewing, that is exactly what I did. There is something to be said about seeing any process or task from beginning to end and this was certainly no exception to that rule. The beer making process was by far my favorite aspect of the class.

Finally, I would like to conclude my thoughts on my experiences in human survival by thanking everyone involved with the class. Primarily, that means Professor Dodd and the archeology department (especially everyone that had to put up with our class in the arch lab).  Also,  I would like to thank my fellow classmates for being great all year long, getting along together and working together, just as humans thousands of years ago would have had to do to survive.

Beren Chandler

