I’m Done?

Today is my last day on Menorca, it’s hard to believe that I have been here for 6 weeks and have already finished my first field school experience. This week we focused on finishing up the site, BU might move to a new site next year, so I spent a lot of time digging down until I hit bedrock. Although I was working in an area that had two Roman coins found at it this season I just dug up a lot of Punic pottery, small bones, and then finally nothing. There’s something really satisfying about finishing up an area. Knowing there is no way you are leaving and that someone will come along behind you and find something amazing in that exact spot. I might have a control issue come to think of it… Also, just the fact once you get down to bedrock you have just exposed an area that has not seen the sun for thousands of years. To me it’s kind of a weird thought that the dirt my clothes are caked with is dirt that was last touched by Romans or Talayotic people. Weird.

Hiking

I’ve spent a lot of time in the field but I have also spent a lot of time just exploring the island and the city I’m staying in, Mahon. Both are absolutely stunning and I will miss my daily walks around the port. Last night we went out to celebrate someone’s bachelorette party (they’re getting married next summer but who knows if we’ll all be together again) and as we visited the popular bars (Nashville, Texas, i think Europeans might have an obsession with the Wild West) I was just so happy. Just simply happy. That seems like a pretty perfect summer to me.

–Cara Polisini

Leave a Reply

